Are Some Acorns Sweet Enough Without Leaching?

I often get asked the question, “Are some acorns sweet enough without leaching?” The answer in my head is, “good luck with that one,” because acorns are loaded with tannins which is why they aren’t more popular. But truthfully, on occasion you may run across a variety of white oak that I’ve heard needs no leaching. That said, in my thirty-six years of eating acorns, I’ve never once found acorns that needed no leaching. Luckily the tannic acid leaches out in water leaving behind a nice sort ofnutmeal that’s very easy to cook with and adds both texture and flavor to a wide variety of dishes.  Suellen Ocean is the author of Acorns and Eat’em, a how-to vegetarian cookbook and field guide for eating acorns. Find it here: http://www.amazon.com/Acorns-Eatem-How–Vegetarian-Cookbook/dp/1491288973

CreatespaceAcornsAndEat'emFRONTCOVER

One thought on “Are Some Acorns Sweet Enough Without Leaching?

Leave a comment