Sewing Tips For Beginners

An old-fashioned tip for sewing is to do some hand stitching. When you use the sewing machine, your garment can get kinda hacked up, especially if you’re new to it. Hand stitching the facings down that go along a neckline and hand stitching the hems on the sleeves can give the garment a beautiful look. And believe it or not, hand stitching a zipper in place can be wonderful thing. I do that all the time because I think the machine doesn’t look so great. If you are experienced and/or have a fabulous machine, you may be successful but zippers can be problematic. If so, just get yourself some matching thread and needle and put your feet up and relax and enjoy while you secure the zipper in by hand. Go over and over it. Overkill actually, because you don’t want it popping out on you.

Suellen Ocean is the author of many books on diverse topics. Her books are available here: http://www.amazon.com/Suellen-Ocean/e/B001KC7Z78

4 thoughts on “Sewing Tips For Beginners

  1. I bought it new. A company called, “Real Goods” was selling them in the 1980s. It was about $250. It is awesome. I love it. I have a lot of control with my foot pedal. Keeps my blood circulating.

    Like

Leave a comment