I Have Re-discovered Waxed Paper

I’m the chef around my house… I enjoy cooking. And I make sandwiches for my husband five days a week. But being the environmentalist that I am, I hate wrapping them in plastic. Every time I use a plastic bag I think about the horrendous video I watched on Facebook about seabirds who ingest our cast away plastic bags and tons of other plastic items. Even though I recycle bread wrappers, etc., it is still plastic and winds up in the garbage eventually. I bought a big roll of waxed paper for only $1.50 and this morning, the sandwiches wrapped up really well in them. It was kinda fun using it. I looked all over the box for the “ingredients.” I couldn’t find anything. I “heard” that waxed paper is more ecological because it breaks down. I think it’s a step up from plastic and I’m pleased so far. On the box, it had several other uses for it but for now, I think I’ll just stick with a new, old-fashioned way to wrap up sandwiches for my hard-working fellow. (He’s a surveyor in the Sierras… he climbs mountains.)CreatespaceAcornsAndEat'emFRONTCOVER

Suellen Ocean is the author of many books on diverse topics. Her books are available here:  http://www.amazon.com/Suellen-Ocean/e/B001KC7Z78

Leave a Reply

