Covering the Gardening Beds With Straw… Fantastic!

Smaller Gone North Front CoverI first read about covering the garden with straw in a book by Ruth Stout. I think it was called, “Gardening the Easy Way.” Something like that. It was well written and made you feel a fool if you gardened any other way. Every year or so, I’ll throw a little straw on my garden to mulch it, especially last year with the horrible Armageddon drought we had. But I’m doing it again this year and I will continue to do it as long as my local feed store has wheat straw in stock. I ask myself, what part of it keeps the weeds down don’t you understand? And the water conservation is fantastic. That and as it breaks down it feeds the earthworms.

Yes, my garden beds are almost completely covered in bright yellow wheat straw. It looks so cheerful and it hides the weeds that I am unable to yank up. If I put enough straw on them, they will die. And if weeds do pop up out of the straw, they are really easy to pull up.CreatespaceAcornsAndEat'emFRONTCOVER

Life is good isn’t it? When we garden? I look forward to spending a lot of time out there this summer… lounging and watering. I hope you are enjoying yours or if you don’t have one, enjoying looking at other people’s gardens. There are a lot of them out there these days. It’s very trendy…

Suellen Ocean is the author of many books on diverse topics. Her books are available here:  http://www.amazon.com/Suellen-Ocean/e/B001KC7Z78

Leave a Reply

