There’s A lot of Talk About Living Forever… You Can Count Me Out

CreatespaceCover The Celtic PrinceMy son sent me a link to an article about humans living forever. Immortality through technology. I have no interest in living forever. Creepy… scary… like being stuck in a submarine with no way out. I would however, enjoy living a healthy life into my 100’s. To stop the dying process would be to stop ourselves from going into the great beyond… heaven… the otherworld. Why would we want to do that? Just because we don’t know what happens after we die? What’s wrong with… surprise! You’re an elephant! Or surprise! You’re on the next level of humanity because you did so well last time?

This world is a beautiful place… most of the time… for many of us. But it’s a real hell hole for others who live in unfortunate circumstances in dangerous and inhospitable regions. Folksinger, Arlo Guthrie has a response to the statement, there’s always someone worse off than you. Arlo says, “What about that last guy…” the poor guy who is so unfortunate, no one has it worse.

I could give you the same reasons we’ve always heard. “You get so old, all of your friends are dead.” Good point, even if it is a cliche. It’s just that I spend a lot of time in nature observing that life goes around and around. Life and rebirth. When it’s my turn, why would I want to give that up? Life might be even more beautiful on the other side.  Suellen Ocean is the author of many books on diverse topics. Her books are available here:  http://www.amazon.com/Suellen-Ocean/e/B001KC7Z78

2 thoughts on “There’s A lot of Talk About Living Forever… You Can Count Me Out

  1. Suellen: Hello there. You know me as Writer2 on KDP. Stopping by to say hello, and say how much I like your blog site. I took your advice, and started one (prairiewriter.com). As I am in my early stages, I am finding my way around. It’s a little trickier than I thought it would be. I think my post of the day will be about prairie poets, of which there have been a few of those. Ella

    Like

Leave a Reply

