Dieting Is Painful This Time of Year… Let’s Eat Pie

This time of year our self-control gets put to the test. Believe me, I know. I’ve got a box of Sees candy in the fridge given to me as a gift. If I open it, all hell will break loose. I’m the one who went through two boxes of Tofutti Cuties in about four days. I bought them for some teenagers who were coming to visit but didn’t show up. If you haven’t tried non-dairy ice cream sandwiches, you are missing out. But I can’t do that all the time. But I can still enjoy desserts, one of my favorites is pumpkin pie. In the summer I grow lots of pumpkins but you can buy pumpkin in the can and still make a nice pie. Where I save on calories is in the crust. What crust? That’s what I should say but hey… it works. I take a glass pie pan and sprinkle the bottom with about 1/3 cup of whole wheat flour. That’s it. I pour my pumpkin pie mixture into the pie pan, over the flour and I bake the pie. It’s really good. I keep the filling ingredients low calorie too. It makes a wonderful dessert, especially with a hot cup of tea. Suellen Ocean is the author of the vegetarian cookbook, Poor Jonny’s Cookbook. Available here:

http://www.amazon.com/Poor-Jonnys-Cookbook-Suellen-Ocean/dp/0965114031

eBook or computer download through Smashwords:

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/260122

eBook through Barnes & Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/poor-jonnys-cookbook-suellen-ocean/1102338251?ean=2940016618609

 

Leave a Reply

