Chubbiness Runs in my Family

When I went to New Orleans last summer to visit my father’s family, they all kept calling me “Chubby’s daughter.” Chubby this and Chubby that, even at one point my cousin said, “You don’t mind if we call him Chubby do you? That’s what we all called him.” No I didn’t mind except it made me feel a little chubby myself, after a fashion, but my father was a jolly guy, the good Lord didn’t make many like him and probably never will. But it kinda makes you wonder about the way chubbiness runs in families. “I don’t eat very much,” I hear family members say, to which I roll my eyes, after all, I’m the one that just saw them order at the last restaurant and after they ordered quite a bit they looked at me and said the same thing, “I don’t eat very much.” My father used to think it was hilarious the way my sister and I gobbed butter on our French bread when out in restaurants during the 1960’s, “You want bread on your butter?” he used to say teasingly, as if admiring our extravagant taste, either that or proud that we were just like him. But times have changed. Technology allows us to see what gobs of butter does to our heart. Bad habits are hard to break but when my husband went to the doctor and was diagnosed with high cholesterol, the doctor had some great advice, “Don’t eat butter.” So we don’t and ya know what, it took awhile to get used to it but olive oil works for me. But next time you see my brother, try to explain to him that just because those who consume olive oil tend to suffer less strokes, does not mean that you pour it all over your food … butter and all. Suellen Ocean is the author of Gold River. Available here:

Gold River: http://www.amazon.com/Gold-River-Suellen-Ocean/dp/1484094042

eBooks and computer downloads available through Smashwords:

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/ocean

Hold out for your shade of crazy.

Leave a Reply

