Cooking With Acorns… Should I Make Flour First?

Acorn flour is one of the first things people think of when imagining they are cooking with acorns. Those who make and have dried acorn flour on hand, truly appreciate it but dried acorn flour is not my favorite method. My acorns are always wet. I run my shelled acorns through a blender with water and then leach them. After they are thoroughly leached I cook them in water, for just a few minutes. I let it cool then I freeze it. I suppose one could say that this is flour but it will remind you of cooked cornmeal or cream of wheat cereal. Once thawed and the water is squeezed out, you can make just about anything with it and the nice thing about it is, it’s already cooked. Suellen Ocean is the author of Acorns and Eat’em, a how-to vegetarian cookbook and field guide for eating acorns. Find it here: http://www.amazon.com/Acorns-Eatem-How–Vegetarian-Cookbook/dp/1491288973

CreatespaceAcornsAndEat'emFRONTCOVER

Leave a comment